What a deal - need opinions « Nikon Rumors Forum

The new Nikon Rumors Forum is now live at http://forum.nikonrumors.com/discussions. This forum is now in "read only" mode until I figure a proper way to import all data over to the new platform. Please register over at the new forum.


Nikon Rumors Forum

where there’s smoke there’s forum fire

Register or log in - lost password?

Nikon Rumors Forum » Nikon DSLR
[closed]

What a deal - need opinions

(9 posts) (7 voices)
  • Started 2 years ago by 2cents
  • Latest reply from adamz
  • Related Topics:
    1. Dusty lens or sensor?
    2. Better Investment: Lenses or Bodies
    3. Nikon D3s Video User Group
    4. New to world of photography- need advice on picking up a long term dslr Help!!!
    5. XQD card opinions

Tags:

  • D3s
  • ebay
  • Nikon
  1. 2cents

    junior member
    Joined: Jan '11
    Posts: 6

    offline

    Hello all. I've emailed an ebay user about his Nikon D3s camera he had posted on ebay. The 'Buy it now' price is $1700. He's confirmed that it's a D3s, very few shutter clicks and in great shape. Too good to be true? There must be something wrong here is the only thing I can think of. Your thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

    Posted 2 years ago #
  2. TaoTeJared

    preferred member
    Joined: Apr '10
    Posts: 2,422

    offline

    Not there anymore. Scam or stolen I would think.

    Posted 2 years ago #
  3. SkintBrit

    preferred member
    Joined: Jul '10
    Posts: 1,149

    offline

    Have they posted pictures of it?
    How old is it, (does it have any warranty)?
    Ask them to email a picture of the warranty card and matching box and camera serial Nos. (I see no reason why they should object to letting you see a copy of the original purchase receipt also). I suspect asking for this will answer your suspicions.

    Posted 2 years ago #
  4. Mike Gunter

    preferred member
    Joined: Sep '10
    Posts: 946

    offline

    Hi,

    Narrowing down by locality should help, too.

    Good luck - my best,

    Mike

    Posted 2 years ago #
  5. 2cents

    junior member
    Joined: Jan '11
    Posts: 6

    offline

    That is kinda my thought as well. I did get a direct email from the seller last night with pictures, but those can be found on flickr easily. no photos of the box or warranty, though.

    Posted 2 years ago #
  6. 2cents

    junior member
    Joined: Jan '11
    Posts: 6

    offline

    Thanks for the great advice.

    Posted 2 years ago #
  7. jerl

    preferred member
    Joined: Dec '10
    Posts: 425

    offline

    The rule is simple- if it's too good to be true, it always is. Especially on e-bay- why would anyone want to sell a D3s for so low? Even if you know nothing about photography, you know it's an expensive camera and you know enough to check its value first.

    I'd stay as far away from this as possible.

    Posted 2 years ago #
  8. kyoshinikon

    preferred member
    Joined: Jan '10
    Posts: 1,200

    offline

    He has been on the ebays for quite some time with a different alias every 2 weeks. If the bidding starts at a buck it's usually fine (and often winds up selling for more than what one would pay new for one!), but if the ad is set up as bidding but says below you can buy it now for ridiculously cheap if you call Bubba Squat first, its a scam.

    Posted 2 years ago #
  9. adamz

    The Predator
    Joined: Mar '09
    Posts: 3,461

    offline

    gals & guys, closing this. as jerl wrote: "The rule is simple- if it's too good to be true, it always is."

    Posted 2 years ago #

RSS feed for this topic

Topic Closed

This topic has been closed to new replies.

NikonRumors Forum (http://nikonrumors.com/forum) is proudly powered by bbPress
Disclaimer: This site has no affiliation with Nikon USA or any other subsidiary of Nikon. Please visit the official Nikon website at nikon.com
Copyright © 2008-2011 NikonRumors.com